The Complete Wreck (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Books 1-13)


English language

Published Oct. 13, 2006 by HarperCollins.

View on OpenLibrary

5 stars (2 reviews)

3 editions

Still a great series

5 stars

It is amazing how a children's book series can capture ineffectiveness so well. The kids have to save the day because the adults are too busy to, well, save the day. This series, though, goes even deeper, into a subtle critique of Capitalism. I cannot recommend this series enough. The writing is especially witty. This series really does shine a light on the phrase, talk is cheap.


  • Humorous Stories
  • Children's Books/Ages 9-12 Fiction
  • Juvenile Fiction
  • Children: Grades 4-6
  • Action & Adventure - General
  • Family - Orphans & Foster Homes
  • Juvenile Fiction / Family / Orphans & Foster Homes
  • Children's All Ages - Fiction - General
  • Brothers and sisters
  • Fiction
  • Orphans